Return to Headlines

Donna ISD Board of Trustees Sworn In


The Donna Independent School District Board of Trustees held a swearing-in ceremony for the newly elected and re-elected board members during a special board meeting at the Bennie LaPrade Stadium Thursday, Nov. 12, 2020.

Taking the oath of office were newcomers Fernando Castillo, Jose L. Valdez and Jose Rogelio Reyna as well as incumbent Eva Castillo Watts who was re-elected to serve another four years. This will be Ms. Watts fourth term as a Donna ISD Board Member. Each one was sworn-in by State Representative Armando Martinez, District 39 (D-Weslaco). They, along with current Trustees Dr. Maricela Valdez, Col. Roberto Perez and David De Los Rios will make up the new school board. 

During the meeting, the school board also elected new leadership appointing Dr. Valdez as President, De Los Rios as Vice President and Mr. Valdez as Secretary. 

The incoming Board of Trustees will undergo the first of a series of Lone Star Governance trainings Friday, November 13 and Saturday, Nov. 14 offered by the Texas Education Agency.